Oakleigh Park School of Swimming

100 Oakleigh Rd North, London, N20 9EZ Directions

Tel 020 8445 1911

Why Choose Us?

Highest Standards
Competitive Prices
Friendly Service

Photos

Image 4 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 7 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 3 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 10 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 5 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 6 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 9 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 2 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 12 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 11 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 8 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming
Image 13 of Oakleigh Park School of Swimming

Credentials

Associations

  • Amateur Swimming Association

Reviews

Excellent swimming school

5
Our two girls learnt to swim with Oakleigh Park swimming school both whetstone pool, mill hill and later the new frith manor pool. I noticed the low stars and wanted to write about our experience which finished a few years ago 2015 with school lessons in Y5. Generally all the instructors were good to very good/excellent. The older advanced group was excellent age 13 years.
Teachers in all schools vary but overall the staff have been lovely. Thanks to everyone at Oakleigh park swimming school. Carmel
12 Oct 2020
Dear Carmel. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are so glad the girls did well and wish them all the best.
12 Oct 2020
Dear Carmel. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are so glad the girls did well and wish them all the best.
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

Poor teaching quality from some teachers and the way my concerns were dealt with

1
I raised concerns about the progress of my child and the approach of a particular teacher. I was told I should find a one-to-one tutor and go somewhere else. I don't want to push my child to do what she can't do, I just want her to maintain her current level and be able to learn proper techniques that she was taught by the other teacher in the same place in the past terms. As I had been very happy with the school in the past few terms, I was shocked and disappointed by the way my concerns were dealt with. It's a shame that a very good teacher only covered a few sessions.
29 Feb 2020
Dear Cathy. I am so sorry to have read your review. I am not sure by your name on here, who you are, but please contact me so I can get a chance to understand fully what happened. As you say, you have been happy in previous terms and you have written this one week into a new term. Here to help. Kind regards Jonathan Rolfe, Owner.
29 Feb 2020
Dear Cathy. I am so sorry to have read your review. I am not sure by your name on here, who you are, but please contact me so I can get a chance to understand fully what happened. As you say, you have been happy in previous terms and you have written this one week into a new term. Here to help. Kind regards Jonathan Rolfe, Owner.
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

Don't waste time and money

1
My daughter had some lessons but we thought that the quality of teaching is very poor. The pool is not cleaned, staffs are rude and not enthusiastic as they only interested in getting money from us. When we made a complaint they did not want to hear and deal with it. I do not recommend the school to anyone.
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

child and me extremely dissatisfied.

2
Due to their error, my competent child was put for 2 days in crash course with non swimmers and less able group. 'sorry' , excuse for the badge day and too many children on deep end !! My child was let down. After phone calls/emails he was put with his ability group but emails didn't provide much assurance. As my child has physical coordination issues I requested to make up those 2 days or an hour wasted as practicing and progressing is more important but never received answer. ( actually for any child progress is important without wasting any minute). He achieved 100 meters but he wasn't happy as he had already achieved it in last February course but they didn't issue certificate/badge as he had missed 2 days due to illness which I didn't mind.
To any parent who spend money/time wants their child to be with a right group. I have given 2 stars as couple of his instructors were really good in the past else only 1 star.
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

Very dissapointed

1
I have been taking my son to lessons in Mill Hill for the last 3 to 4 years and up to the end of last term everything was great however this term I have noticed a steady decline in the quality of the lessons. The classes are oversubscribed and not enough attention given to the pupils. Today was the last straw for me,the swimming instructor teaching 5 pupils didn't even bother to get into the swimming pool. After 25 minutes of the lesson my son did 2 lengths and the rest of the time he was left doing nothing whilst attention was being focused on 1 or 2 of the more advanced swimmers in his class. If I had filled up the bath and let my son stand in it for 30 minutes he would probably have learnt more than he was taught today. Either the staff are not properly trained or the classes have too many pupils. I won't bother taking my son back for the rest of the term and I would strongly advise that if you plan on taking your children to this swimming school that you make sure you check it out properly first to make sure you are happy with the type of lessons your child will be getting. I am very disappointed and feel my money was wasted
26 Nov 2015
Thank you for your feedback.Since you have posted this,we have spoken on the phone &I have offered a range of things to help you.As a family business we welcome our customers to come&talk to us directly so we can help immediately.It seems over 4 years, it is the last 8 lessons you have not been happy with &the lesson just gone in particular.This lesson as mentioned to you was badge day where we test the pupils for their badges.The lesson can be slower,as we safely test them through their badges.I am sorry this was not right for you & will review this with the teacher. I can confirm the following:
You correctly stated that there were 5 pupils to one teacher.There is usually an assistant in this class who was absent.We are very happy with a 5:1 ratio.We also offer 1:1 and 2:1 ratio
The teacher was teaching from the side as this is a swimmers class & follows ASA and STA guidelines.In some classes our teachers do teach in water. A supervisor was on the side. Jonathan Rolfe, Owner
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit