Bronte Proofreading & Editing Services

Quality Editorial & Proofreading Services

151 Sapgate Lane, Bradford, BD13 3DY Directions

Tel 07723 392942
   Now closed Open today 09:00 - 18:00

Why Choose Us?

Fully Qualified
High Quality
Affordable Prices

Here at Bronte Proofreading & Editing Services, we pride ourselves on our reputation

Featured Review

5

Absolutely excellent

Paula has ninja-level attention to detail! I’d struggled to settle with a proofreader because I needed someone who could understand my subject area and go beyond simply ‘dotting the i’s and crossing the t’s’ (I’m a genealogist so I research & write family trees as well as family history books which at times can be very complicated!). Paula took the time to talk to me about my work and unders...tand my goals, offering a range of services. She was flexible, accommodating and realistic. Timescales and pricing are always crystal clear and honestly….if you’re working with Paula you can rest assured you’ve got someone who is on your side that will make sure the job gets done, properly. Hassle-free, top quality service.

Excerpt from a review by on 09 Feb 2021

Business overview

Brontë helps individuals, authors, businesses and organisations perfect their writing so it is clear, concise, accurate, professional and powerful.

Brontë Proofreading & Editing Services is proud of its commitment to provide quality, professional Editorial and Proofreading Services, with consistent attention to detail and maintaining the highest quality of work. My goal is to meet and exceed the expectations of every customer. I take on a variety of work from small individual pieces to larger commercial projects, all carried out to the highest standards, and at very competitive prices.

I am a qualified, professional proofreader & editor, trained by Chapterhouse Publishing and the College of Media & Publishing, and I’m a member of the Chartered Institute of Editing and Proofreading (CIEP).

• Let Brontë help you to perfect your writing. so that it is in the best condition it can be – clear, concise, accurate, professional, and powerful.

• Make Brontë your second pair of eyes to spot any grammatical and typographical errors, amongst others, to ensure your writing is fit for purpose, consistent, readable, and factually correct.

• Let Brontë protect or even enhance your reputation by correcting the errors you don’t see, because it’s almost impossible to get your writing word perfect when you’ve worked on it at length.

• Get your writing noticed for its purpose and not its mistakes!

• My services are not limited to any particular sector of client and I can cater for individuals, sole traders, independent authors, publishers, academics, businesses & organisations.

• Personal documents – Reports – Blogs – Copy – Websites – Presentations – Manuscripts – Journals – Letters – CVs – Essays – Dissertations – Brochures – Books etc.

• I can accommodate work in either hard copy or electronically in most formats, and with BSI mark-up if required.

Check out the website for further detail or Get in touch.

Photos

Bronte Business Card
This is just a sample of the many and varied actions a professional proofreader and editor might take on a Client's writing to help perfect it.
This shows how a piece of writing might be marked up with the British Standard correction marks (on paper) although it is much simpler when done electronically.
Chartered Institute of Editors and Proofreaders
Profile picture - in the office
Profile
Grammar Tip
Bronte Teacher Quote
Oxford Comma usage
This isn't just a job; it's my passion! If you're satisfied with the work I've done for you, please leave a review and recommend me to your family, friends, and colleagues, as referrals are an important part of my business. Thank you in advance.

Prices

Simple Proofread
Guide price £17 - 19 per hour
Intermediate Proofread
Guide price £19 - 21 per hour
Complex Proofread
Guide price £21 - 23 per hour
Technical Copyedit
Guide price £19 - 21 per hour
Intermediate Technical Copyedit
Guide price £21 - 23 per hour
Complex Technical Copyedit
Guide price £23 - 25 per hour
Structural Copyedit
Guide price £21 - 23 per hour
Intermediate Structural Copyedit
Guide price £23 - 25 per hour
Complex Structural Copyedit
Guide price £25 - 27 per hour
Substantive Editing
Guide price £23 - 25 per hour
Intermediate Substantive Editing
Guide price £25 - 27 per hour
Complex Substantive Editing
Guide price £27 - 29 per hour

Products & Services

Proofreading

Copy Editing

Editing

Beta Reading

Writers

Authors

Publishers

Author Services

Editing & Correcting Documents etc

Proofreading & Correcting Documents etc

Manuscript Critique

Review Web Copy

Review of blogs

Credentials

Associations

  • Chartered Institute of Editing and Proofreading

Reviews

Featured review

Absolutely excellent

5
Paula has ninja-level attention to detail! I’d struggled to settle with a proofreader because I needed someone who could understand my subject area and go beyond simply ‘dotting the i’s and crossing the t’s’ (I’m a genealogist so I research & write family trees as well as family history books which at times can be very complicated!). Paula took the time to talk to me about my work and understand my goals, offering a range of services. She was flexible, accommodating and realistic. Timescales and pricing are always crystal clear and honestly….if you’re working with Paula you can rest assured you’ve got someone who is on your side that will make sure the job gets done, properly. Hassle-free, top quality service.
09 Feb 2021
Thank you for the review Hannah - I really enjoyed proofreading the genealogy booklet you produced, it was so interesting and with all the history you discovered, it was engaging and surprising. I could see that you had a very specific structure and chronology to your booklet and I always strive to preserve the author's voice and intention. I'm so glad you were happy with the services from Brontë Proofreading & Editing Services and look forward to working with you again in the future. Remember, there's a discount for repeat business :-)! #FamilyTreesbyHannah
09 Feb 2021
Thank you for the review Hannah - I really enjoyed proofreading the genealogy booklet you produced, it was so interesting and with all the history you discovered, it was engaging and surprising. I could see that you had a very specific structure and chronology to your booklet and I always strive to preserve the author's voice and intention. I'm so glad you were happy with the services from Brontë Proofreading & Editing Services and look forward to working with you again in the future. Remember, there's a discount for repeat business :-)! #FamilyTreesbyHannah
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

Proof reading of poetry

5
A very professional and speedy service from start to finish.
Reasonably priced for the amount of work done.
Paula Kench interacted in a friendly manner and has given me positive criticism for me to move forward with my work. I didn’t expect this added to the proof read.
I am so grateful of her professional opinion. (Hoping I've spelt everything right here 😀)
I most definitely recommend this lady! 👌👌
05 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. I'm so pleased I was able to help polish all the hard work and creativity you poured into the emotive keepsake postcards, I'm sure many people will find them a unique way of expressing their feelings. Good luck with the launch and don't hesitate to reach out to me in the future, it was great working with you too!
05 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. I'm so pleased I was able to help polish all the hard work and creativity you poured into the emotive keepsake postcards, I'm sure many people will find them a unique way of expressing their feelings. Good luck with the launch and don't hesitate to reach out to me in the future, it was great working with you too!
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

Outstanding copy edit. I highly recommend Bronte Proofreading and Editing Services.

5
I used Bronte proof reading and editing services for my first book to be self published on Amazon. I was so impressed with the amount of work that Paula put into this. Paula really did go through my work with a fine tooth comb and came up with some brilliant suggestions for where I needed to reword sentences.
Paula was really easy to communicate with and gave me regular updates with how she was getting on with the copy edit. I was amazed at the level of detail and am now very proud of my final draft. I would highly recommend Bronte Proofreading and I will definitely use them again.
15 Feb 2022
Thank you for the lovely review Fay. I'm so pleased that you were satisfied with the work I did for you and you should be proud, it is a good book with lots of helpful tips. I wish you every success with the publishing and I look forward to working with you again in the future.
15 Feb 2022
Thank you for the lovely review Fay. I'm so pleased that you were satisfied with the work I did for you and you should be proud, it is a good book with lots of helpful tips. I wish you every success with the publishing and I look forward to working with you again in the future.
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

PICTURE POINT FILMS BIOGRAPHY PADDY DOHERTY IN MY OWN WORDS BRILLIANT WORK

5
I asked Paula to help organise a biographical account of Paddy Doherty's life in the 10 years since he won Celebrity Big Brother. Most of the material was there as documents or recordings of interviews. Paula took the myriad of files, organised them, developed the prose and even helped to provide additional factual details or creative descriptions in some areas. She did all this while preserving the author's voice and style, making the most of the comedic elements, with laugh out loud moments and ultimately making the book easy to read, which I know will be welcomed by Paddy's fan base and new readers alike. Paula was very accommodating to changes in scope, she kept me updated with progress and I was delighted with the effort she put in to meet my needs and to deliver the end product. I would have no reservations in recommending Paula and Brontë Proofreading and Editing Services and I would not hesitate to work with Paula again on future PICTUREPOINT Films book project
03 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the developmental edit I worked on with you Daniel. It was a great collaborative project and I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Paddy through his writing and interviews with yourself. Preserving the author's voice and style is so important and I know that readers will see and hear Paddy in their mind's eye when they read the book. I look forward to working with you again in the future and wish you and Paddy every success in your next adventures. Paula.
03 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the developmental edit I worked on with you Daniel. It was a great collaborative project and I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Paddy through his writing and interviews with yourself. Preserving the author's voice and style is so important and I know that readers will see and hear Paddy in their mind's eye when they read the book. I look forward to working with you again in the future and wish you and Paddy every success in your next adventures. Paula.
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

eBook help

5
I had written an eBook to share my tips on self-love and Paula proofread it for me. She picked up a lot of things that I had not spotted myself and probably would not have picked up after reading through several times. I received a detailed report with page and line numbers for me to review and action which meant I was able to change my work in a very short time. Paula sent me the report back within 24 hours of receiving the link to the eBook and I had been able to change it and share it within the time frame I had set myself. Paula was very professional and I would be very happy to recommend her to anyone who wanted to use a proofreader. I will not hesitate to use her again in the future.
15 Jun 2021
Thanks Jan, I'm glad I could help perfect your eBook that is full of great tips and techniques for appreciating and spending time on yourself. It's so difficult to spot your own inconsistencies when reviewing your material prior to publication, as you are too close to the content and subconsciously skip over the little things that make a difference to readability. That's where having a fresh pair of eyes really helps. I look forward to us working together again in the future. Good luck with your master classes and many more eBooks to support them.
15 Jun 2021
Thanks Jan, I'm glad I could help perfect your eBook that is full of great tips and techniques for appreciating and spending time on yourself. It's so difficult to spot your own inconsistencies when reviewing your material prior to publication, as you are too close to the content and subconsciously skip over the little things that make a difference to readability. That's where having a fresh pair of eyes really helps. I look forward to us working together again in the future. Good luck with your master classes and many more eBooks to support them.
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

Testimonials

Image of Bronte Proofreading & Editing Services

Attention to Detail

Paula's attention to detail is second to none. She prides herself on ensuring any documentation is completely accurate, readable and engaging, with the content directly relevant to the intended audience. When working with Paula I had full trust in her ability to produce meaningful and succinctly written communications.

- Source: Sue Taylor - Group Data Protection Officer - LinkedIn

Image of Bronte Proofreading & Editing Services

Excellent Work Ethic

Paula has great attention to detail and is able to convey the message to the relevant audience in the appropriate language succinctly. These, combined with a excellent work ethic, are great assets to any organisation.

- Source: Philip Stewart, CISSP, CISM - Security Consultant - LinkedIn

Image of Bronte Proofreading & Editing Services

Translates Complex Theories

Paula has the ability to translate complicated theories into practical applications which makes her an ideal mentor. She takes time and patience to help others achieve.

- Source: Fiona Rhodes MSc MBCS CITP - LinkedIn

Image of Bronte Proofreading & Editing Services

Command of English Language

I was to work for Paula at Provident Financial as the IT Risk Manager. During this time Paula was to support and mentor me into a Senior Manager position at the Company. As well as a fantastic role model and source of advice, Paula's high attention to detail and command of the English language was to prove invaluable in putting together a series of Board reports to (successfully) seek funding for IT as well as report on material risks. Without Paula's support, I would not be where I am today.

- Source: Steve Westmoreland - Senior Risk & Assurance Manager - LinkedIn

Image of Bronte Proofreading & Editing Services

Logical Problem Solver - Measured & Considered Excellence

A passionate, persuasive, listener, does the right thing and gets the job done. It was an absolute joy to work alongside Paula during my engagement with the Provident, she challenges well and like to get to the route of your thinking and why you make the reccomendations you do. She uses this to apply fully the logic to the business problems and issues in hand to deliver a long lasting quality solution for the business. Measured and considered excellence at the heart of everything she achieves.

- Source: Patrick J Stapleton MA BSc PDPM MCIPD - Management Consultant - LinkedIn

Image of Bronte Proofreading & Editing Services

Straightforward Advice & Knowledge

Working with Paula was always straightforward with the outcome being either some clear direction from her, or a decision. She is extremely well organised, calm under pressure, re-assuring, commanding when the situation requires, practical and a good Team player. I know her staff hold her in high regard and as a Project Manager, working at Provident, I knew I could always rely on her advice and knowledge. She has a talent for being good at both operational and project roles!

- Source: Lee Richardson - Senior Project Manager - LinkedIn