Bridal Dressing Room

57 Waterhouse St, Hemel Hempstead, HP1 1EA Directions

   Now closed Open Friday 09:00 - 17:00

Why Choose Us?

Professional Service
Friendly Atmosphere
Extensive Range

Business overview

The Wedding Centre is a family run business, we care passionately about our brides. So whether you are looking for the perfect gown or you need alterations please come and see us.

The Wedding Centre offers everything you could possibly need for your special day! Let us help you find your dream dress and create your perfect wedding.

Our Bridal Gown Designers include; Justin Alexander, Ian Stuart, Ronald Joyce, Victoria Jane, Callista and Sonsie.

There is a large range of Bridesmaids Dresses available.

We also have a seasonal sale room, where you can save up to 70% off original retail price.

Appointments are necessary and can be made through our website or by calling 01442 266 228.

In addition to finding your dress we can also provide alterations with our in-house dress makers. They will fit your gown to perfection, making sure you look stunning on your wedding day.

We also have an in-house Wedding Planner who is able to provide supplier recommendations.

Next door you will find Katie Picco Florist's who can supply your wedding flowers, they will work within your budget to provide stunning wedding bouquets, corsages, button holes and table centre pieces.


Image of Bridal Dressing Room
A small selection of our Designer Gowns in the shop

Products & Services

Bridal shops

Bridesmaids wear



Wedding flowers

Wedding planning

bridesmaid dresses

sewing alterations

wedding chair covers


Stunning dresses, poor service

Firstly let me say the dresses in The Wedding Centre are beautiful. I specifically arranged an appointment there as i knew they stocked a certain designer (which i ended up buying and was very happy with).

The staff are pretty friendly, but i was so disappointed in the unprofessional service. Something went wrong at every single appointment, from confirming with me by text appointments which the shop had no knowledge of on arrival, to having to stand in the shop doorway for 15 minutes whilst 2 overrunning appointments finished up, and then sharing a dressing room with the appointment after me.

The dresses are stunning and something a little more unusual, which is what i wanted, but based on the owners unprofessional running of the shop, i wouldn't recommend. i've since read a lot of bad reviews online too.
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

An amazing caring team who are passionate to help you find 'the one' They're wedding dress angels...

From the moment I made contact with Katie, the whole experience was like a dream.
I had experienced a nightmare in a wedding shop in Ongar and had lost faith in finding a dress for a big girl! Katie and her team of angels changed all that.
I loved my dress and the whole experience with the wedding dress angels at 'The Wedding Centre'.
They allow plenty of time for every appointment, explain each part and answer your questions, they are honest if something is not right or cannot be done or changed. Their honesty and passion shines through everything they do.
They even made a silk corsage for my disabled mum as I was struggling to get one one in the right colours in time and as a gift to her, it made her feel special too.
I highly recommend any lady looking for a dress and a wonderful memorable caring experience to go to these ladies as they will do all they can to ensure it is. Thank you 'The Wedding Centre'.
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

Ripped off

STAY AWAY FROM THIS SHOP!!!! Buying my wedding dress from Katie Picco was the worst decision I have ever made. She mislead me into a contract, not once did she tell me that the dress I was buying was actually a sample dress. She asked for the full amount including alteration costs upfront (an Ian Stuart wedding Dress which was not cheap). Once I realised what she had done I kept calling her but she kept ignoring my calls, I just got text messages with excuse after excuse, very unprofessional. I lost complete confidence in her so I asked for the alteration costs to be refunded, I no longer had trust in her to do this for me. She was not prepared to refund me the alteration costs. She has made my last few weeks extremely stressful, I would not want anyone else to go through the same thing. I only wish I had read all the bad reviews on her before I went to her shop. Buying your wedding dresss should be an amazing experience, unfortunately mine has been completely ruined thanks to Katie!!
KatieP-69's Avatar
16 Jan 2017
Dear Sonia, Firstly thank you for the review, we welcome all feedback and try to improve from it. In this instance we are slightly taken aback as you had a lovely time at The Wedding Centre with Katie, you stated that the gowns you saw were the most beautiful gowns you had seen after visiting 4-5 shops. You explained to Katie that your budget was £x and Katie said that she could do the beautiful Ian Stuart gown which you had chosen, within your budget, including the alterations. You also asked if the gown could be dry cleaned, which Katie arranged and completed for you. continued...
KatieP-69's Avatar
16 Jan 2017
In regards to the contract, it is a very straight forward wedding gown shop contract. This will be found in most, if not all, wedding dress shops providing the same service. Our sample gowns require payment in full in order to be reserved, on your contract, sample was written clearly on the order, just above where you signed. You have an all-inclusive package with us, which is also shown on the contract. At no time were you mislead. If you wish to choose an alternative dressmaker that's up to you, however you have the all-inclusive package, this was the offer that you accepted and have already paid for. With Kind Regards, The Wedding Centre
16 Jan 2017
Katie, firstly all you do is lie. Secondly I have lots of written proof from lots of your previous customers saying they have been through exactly the same as me. Thirdly I have 2 witnesses to proof you mislead me into a contract. I don't want anyone else to have to go through what I did, you do have nice dresses, unfortunately you rip people off and do not deserve to have these dresses in your shop.
16 Jan 2017
Katie Picco even has a complaints board online. I don't want anyone else to make the same mistake I did and not read the reviews before you go to the Wedding Centre. Please please make sure you read these first. Thanks
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit

Absolutely fantastic!

Well, I am one happy bride to be! Katie has been amazing!
I am a plus size bride and as with most sample dresses, they are very small! But Katie made me feel so relaxed and reassured. I must have tried on every dress (and she has a lot of dresses) there was no pressure, no rushing and I felt very special :-) Katie was lovely she allowed me to take photographs, have the dresses on for as long as I wanted! Her advice and recommendations were Outstanding!
I found my dress on the first visit and was able to go back as often as I wanted to try it on :-) I went back for a second time in order to show my mum and sister and they loved it so we ordered it there and then.
My dress came in to store and Katie contacted me straight away! I was so excited and asked to see it and she arranged for me to go in, the same day! WOW I love my dress! I put it on and felt amazing! Katie was like a second mum and gave me the biggest hug!
I honestly can't fault my experience in any way, and for any other plus size brides she has new samples In, in bigger sizes! I think she said going up to a size 34.
If you are looking to go somewhere and want to feel - special, relaxed, try on loads of dresses then Do not hesitate to contact The wedding Centre, Hemel Hempstead. You will not be disappointed and you may find your dream dress!
Cara xxxx
Cancel Update
1000 characters limit


Hi Katie

Thank you so much for your time and attention

I will highly recommend you to any friends of mine in the future

Many Thanks

Cancel Update
1000 characters limit